History

Saint Nicholas School was established in 1939 in a group of buildings set in the heart of the attractive hamlet of Churchgate Street, near Old Harlow. The school quickly built up a reputation for its outstanding pastoral care, excellent behaviour and high academic standards. A move to nearby Hillingdon House in 1977 and a substantial building programme in recent years allowed for gradual expansion of the school to its present size of 400 boys and girls aged 2 1/2 – 16 years old. Today the school can boast superb facilities including sports hall, swimming pool and theatre as well as extensive outdoor learning and playing amenities.

Moving forward the Headmaster and Governors remain committed to the continued development of the school to provide the very best facilities and opportunities for all pupils.

The school is a registered charity, managed by the Board of Governors and the Headmaster. The Headmaster is in membership of the Independent Schools Association (ISA)